Welcome to our Knowledge Base :)

Payment preauthorization

Learn how to place a hold on payment (preauthorize) - never miss getting paid again
Written by Mony
Updated 3 weeks ago

Turning on Payment preauthorization will automatically place a hold on any new jobs being creating inside of Maidily or any new jobs that come in through the our online booking form.

  • The hold on the customer's card for the total amount will last for 7 days
  • After 7 days the hold will expire
  • You will have the option to place the hold again after expiration

Turn on Payment preauthorization from Settings -> General - Booking and Pricing section:

Turning this on will automatically display this text on our online booking forms:

  • If a hold fails to be placed on the customer's card at checkout a Preauthorize payment failure message will appear for them - the booking will not be submitted.

If activated, on your Job details page you will see a new section:

  • 'Preauthorize payment' status will automatically be set to 'Active' for any automatically created or manually created jobs
  • Once the job is charged the status will change to 'Released' and funds will be released to you
  • Changing the job total OR switching cards will reset the 'Preauthorize payment' button
  • When creating a job - if the automatic hold fails you will see a message appear and you will not be able to create the job using the selected card for payment

Have questions? We have answers! help@maidily.com

Did this answer your question?